The Miller Prize is an essay prize awarded for an essay written by a student in the philosophy graduate program.

Each year, any paper that has been accepted for publication in a philosophy journal in the previous 12 months will be considered for the prize. The acceptance rates of the journals will be one of the factors taken into account in awarding the prize; the lower the acceptance rate, the more likely the award. Given essays of sufficiently high quality, it is possible that more than one award could be made in the same year.

The cutoff date each year will be April 15. Submissions should be made by email to Michelle Brock, and should include both the paper itself and the email from the journal editor announcing that the paper has been accepted for publication.