Miller Prize open to all Philosophy PhD students

  • Posted on:
  • Posted in: News

The Miller Prize is an essay prize awarded for an essay written by a student in the philosophy graduate program. Beginning in the 2016-17 academic year, the prize will be open to all PhD students in philosophy, and will be tied directly to publication in philosophy journals.

Each year, any paper that has been accepted for publication in a philosophy journal in the previous 12 months will be considered for the prize. The acceptance rates of the journals will be one of the factors taken into account in awarding the prize; the lower the acceptance rate, the more likely the award. Given essays of sufficiently high quality, it is possible that more than one award could be made in the same year.

The cutoff date each year will be April 15. Submissions should be made by email to Veronica Feldkircher-Reed (, and should include both the paper itself and the email from the journal editor announcing that the paper has been accepted for publication.