Members

  • Arash Abazari

    arash.abazari@gmail.com

    Research Interests: German Philosophy since Kant (especially Hegel), Social and Political Philosophy, Political Economy, History of Philosophy

  • Nikola Andonovski

    nikandonovski@yahoo.com

    Research Interests: Philosophy of Mind (intentionality, perception, theories of embodied cognition); Epistemology (the post-Sellarsian landscape); Philosophy of Language (pragmatics, inferentialist semantics); History of Philosophy (Wittgenstein, Heidegger, Deleuze); Meta-Ethics

  • Christopher Arledge

    arledgechris@gmail.com

    Research Interests: Philosophy of physics, philosophy of science, philosophy of statistics, and philosophy of information.

  • Seunghwan Baek

    sbaek8@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Kant and British Empiricism

  • John Brandau

    john.brandau@gmail.com

    Research Interests: Early Modern Philosophy, Metaphysics, German Idealism, and Logic

  • Kathryn Brophy

    kbrophy5@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Philosophy of Mind, Metaphysics and Early Modern

  • Cara Cummings

    ccummi15@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Bioethics (especially procreative ethics & genetic enhancement), Virtue Ethics, & Philosophical Logic

  • Alexander Englert

    aengler1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: German Idealism (esp. Kant and Hegel), Philosophy of Mind, Ethics

  • Marianna Bergamaschi Ganapini

    mbergam1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Mind, and Epistemology

  • Zachary Gartenberg

    zgartenberg@gmail.com

    Research Interests: Early modern philosophy, Kant, nineteenth-century philosophy (esp. Frege and Peirce), philosophy of language, metaphysics, history and philosophy of logic.

  • Nick Goldberg

    ngoldbe7@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Language, Action Theory

  • Palmer Gunderson

    palmer.gunderson@gmail.com

    Research Interests: Philosophy of Mind and Psychology, Philosophy of Science, and the History of Philosophy

  • Genco Guralp

    gguralp3@johnshopkins.edu

    Research Interests: History and philosophy of science, philosophy of cosmology, philosophy of physics and early modern philosophy

  • Austin Heath

    aheath8@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Epistemology, Ancient philosophy (Aristotelian and Hellenistic epistemology, ancient skepticism), Philosophy of Language

  • Rima Hussein

    rima.hussein@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Early Modern philosophy esp. Kant, Descartes, Leibniz and in social philosophy questions surrounding alienation and the intersections of oppressive structures

  • Angela Hvitved

    hvitved@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Ethics and bioethics, philosophy of science, and philosophy of mind

  • David Jacobs

    djacobs83@gmail.com

    Research Interests: German Idealism, Nietzsche, Ancient Philosophy, origins of the Analytic-Continental Divide, Philosophical Quietism

  • Anton Kabeshkin

    akabesh1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Kant, German Idealists, early German Romantics, and other German philosophers of the late 18th through the first third of the 19th century (such as Herder, Goethe, and Schiller)

  • Sandy Koullas

    sgkoll@gmail.com

    Research Interests: History of Philosophy, Ethics, and Political Philosophy

  • David Lindeman

    dlindem4@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Philosophy of language, mind, and psychology

  • Tammo Lossau

    jlossau1@jh.edu

    Research Interests: Epistemology, philosophy of language, metaphysics, methodology of analytic philosophy

  • Itai Marom

    imarom1@jh.edu

    Research Interests: Transcendental Logic (especially in Kant, Hegel, Frege and Wittgenstein), Ethics, Philosophy and Literature, Philosophy of Language and Philosophy of Mind

  • Joshua McBee

    jmcbee01@gmail.com Personal Website

    Research Interests: Metaethics, ethics, epistemology, and (to a lesser extent) ancient philosophy

  • Patrick O’Donnell

    podonn14@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Philosophy of Race and Gender, Philosophy of Language (formal semantics and pragmatics, especially the semantics and pragmatics of generic sentences and slurring words), Philosophy of Psychology

  • Matthew O’Dowd

    Research Interests: epistemology, philosophy of language, metaphysics, and history of analytic philosophy

  • Kevin Powell

    kpowel22@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Metaethics and normative ethics, animal rights theory, and Ancient philosophy (especially Aristotle's ethics).

  • Maegan Reese

    mreese15@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Philosophy of language, epistemology, and artificial intelligence.

  • Adam Reid

    adamcurranreid@gmail.com

    Research Interests: Social and Political Philosophy, Applied Ethics, Animal Rights.

  • Eamon Roach

    eroach3@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: 19th-century German Thought, particularly Hegel; Moral Philosophy; Aesthetics

  • James Schelberg

    jschelb1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Metaphysics, philosophy of cosmology, philosophy of the laws of nature, public philosophy

  • Josef Simpson

    josef.t.simpson@gmail.com

    Research Interests: Epistemology: epistemic normativity and epistemic agency; free will; moral psychology

  • Richard Teague

    rteague2@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Epistemology, Philosophy of Science, Philosophical Logic, Philosophy of Language

  • Tom Wilk

    wilkth01@gmail.com Personal Website

    Research Interests: Epistemology; philosophy of language; philosophy of mind; the history of Early Modern philosophy (particularly Hume)

  • David Williams

    dwill195@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Ethics, value theory, personal identity, alienation, food.

Joint PhD Students

Luce de Lire
Philosophy, Media and Communication, Gender Studies
German and Romance Languages and Literatures

Alexander Host
Aesthetics (primarily Kant, Hegel, and Nietzsche) and Post-Wittgensteinian Philosophy (primarily Cavell)
Humanities Center

Jason Yonover
Early Modern Philosophy, German Idealism, Political Philosophy
German and Romance Languages and Literatures